Language Proficiency

Since 2012 any pilot is obligated to take the language proficiency exam for flying abroad.

Language Levels

You can reach following proficiency levels:
  • Level 1-3
    • not sufficient!
  • Level 4
    •  „operational“ level, able to fly without restriction abroad
    • valid: 4 years
  • Level 5:
    • advanced English knowledge
    • for future airline professionals
    • valid: 6 years
  • Level 6:
    • native level
    • valid: a lifetime


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.